Careers in Criminal Justice by
Careers in Criminal Justice, Second Editionprepares you to plan, pursue, and realize your career goals--from conception through the hiring process. Coy H. Johnston's contemporary approach emphasizes self-reflection and pragmatism in the pursuit of self-fulfillment and professionalism. With coverage of over forty careers in policing, courts, corrections, and victim services, you receive a comprehensive overview of the most popular and growing careers in the field. Self-assessment tools enhance your self-awareness and steer you toward realistic and suitable careers in criminal justice. This easy-to-read guide is organized to prepare and encourage growth throughout your career. New to the Second Edition: A new chapter titled "Volunteering and Internship"(Chapter 9) guides you through the important process of early involvement in the field to create a more enticing resume. Three new "Guest Speaker" profilesoffer you new perspectives and practical advice on a variety of careers and geographical areas. New career assessment toolsare included to help you evaluate your compatibility with various careers in the criminal justice field. Expanded information about critical areas such asprivate prisons, careers in the judiciary,and resume building ensures that you are receiving a balanced introduction to criminal justice careers.
Correction : parole, prison, and the possibility of change by
The United States, a single country, locks up a quarter of the world's incarcerated population. More than 850,000 Americans are currently on parole. Yet the parole system is opaque, a confounding process riddled with inequities. Few understand parole as the extraordinary pivot point it is--both in the country's changing conceptions of justice and in the cycle of mass incarceration. Through its portraits of two men, imprisoned for murder, and the parole board that holds their freedom in the balance, Correction offers a behind-the-curtain look at the process of parole. Austen's engaging storytelling forces a reckoning with some of the most profound questions underlying the country's values around crime and punishment: What must someone who commits a terrible act do to get a second chance? What does incarceration seek to accomplish? An illuminating work of narrative nonfiction, Correction challenges us to consider for ourselves why and who we punish--and how we might find a way out of an era of mass imprisonment.
Criminal (in)Justice by
Criminal (In)Justice: A Critical Introductiontakes an unflinching look at the American criminal justice system and the social forces that affect the implementation of justice. Author Aaron Fichtelberg uses a unique, critical perspective to introduce readers to criminal justice and encourages them to look closer at the intersection of race, class, gender, and inequality in the criminal justice system. Covering each of the foundational areas of the criminal justice system--policing, courts, and corrections--this book takes an in-depth look at the influence of inequality, making it ideal for those who want to critically assess and understand the American criminal justice system.
Homeland Security by
Homeland Security: An Introduction to Principles and Practice, Fourth Edition continues its record of providing a fully updated, no-nonsense textbook to reflect the latest policy, operational, and program changes to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) over the last several years. The blend of theory with practical application instructs students on how to understand the need to reconcile policy and operational philosophy with the real-world use of technologies and implementation of practices. The new edition is completely updated to reflect changes to both new challenges and continually changing considerations. This includes facial recognition, intelligence gathering techniques, information sharing databases, white supremacy, domestic terrorism and lone wolf actors, border security and immigration, the use of drones and surveillance technology, cybersecurity, the status of ISIS and Al Qaeda, the increased nuclear threat, COVID-19, ICE, DACA, and immigration policy challenges. Consideration of, and the coordinated response, to all these and more is housed among a myriad of federal agencies and departments. Features - Provides the latest organizational changes, restructures, and policy developments in DHS - Outlines the role of multi-jurisdictional agencies--this includes stakeholders at all levels of government relative to the various intelligence community, law enforcement, emergency managers, and private sector agencies - Presents a balanced approach to the challenges the federal and state government agencies are faced with in emergency planning and preparedness, countering terrorism, and critical infrastructure protection - Includes full regulatory and oversight legislation passed since the last edition, as well as updates on the global terrorism landscape and prominent terrorist incidents, both domestic and international - Highlights emerging, oftentimes controversial, topics such as the use of drones, border security and immigration, surveillance technologies, and pandemic planning and response - Contains extensive pedagogy including learning objectives, sidebar boxes, chapter summaries, end of chapter questions, Web links, and references for ease in comprehension Homeland Security, Fourth Edition continues to serve as the comprehensive and authoritative text on homeland secuirty. The book presents the various DHS state and federal agencies and entities within the government--their role, how they operate, their structure, and how they interact with other agencies--to protect U.S. domestic interests from various dynamic threats. Ancillaries including an Instructor's Manual with Test Bank and chapter PowerPointTM slides for classroom presentation are also available for this book and can be provided for qualified course instructors. Charles P. Nemeth is a recognized expert in homeland security and a leader in the private security industry, private sector justice, and homeland security education. He has more than 45 book publications and is currently Chair of the Department of Security, Fire, and Emergency Management at John Jay College in New York City.
Juvenile Justice: a Social, Historical, and Legal Perspective by
Juvenile Justice: A Social, Historical, and Legal Perspective, Fifth Edition guides students in developing a sound and balanced understanding of juvenile justice and the social, legal, and historical context that shapes juvenile justice practice. Throughout the text, there are FYIs, Myths v. Reality, Comparative Focus, and Interviews that highlight important facts, dispel common myths, compare practices in the United States with those of other countries, and allow readers to hear from present and former juvenile justice practitioners. Each chapter also contains critical thinking questions intended to help students examine key issues raised in the chapter and a discussion of important legal issues related to chapter content.
